For My Mum

Hello there, Mindscapers!

Long time, huh? Sorry, I’ve been kinda lazy.

Okay, really lazy!

Anyway, today is mother’s day! (That is if I manage to post this today)

Few days ago I made this card, inspired by one of the challenges and this card is for my mum.

Damn, I miss her. 😦

Before I start sobbing, let me quickly tell you about this card.

Titled “LOVE you”, this card was so, so fun to make and so quickly too!

Love you

The technique that I’ve used here is masking or stencilling.

The Stencils used here (The letters and the boxes to contain them) are 100% my brainchild and made by me.

I am so proud of myself.

Now, I really didn’t plan for this to be a tutorial post but I have few images here to show how the process went.

The materials I’ve used here are:

  • Some Post-It rolls for letters
  • Cardstock
  • Scissors
  • Ink Pads  (By Artistry. Orange Popsicle,   )
  • Printers paper for box stencil. (Pretty sure you can find better paper to work with.)
  • Pigma Microns

The images are rather self-explanatory so I will shut up now and let you go through it.

Tutorial 1

 

 

Tutorial 2

On the top, right-hand corner you can see the box “Stencil” I made to contain the colour around the letters. I don’t know if that makes sense but yeah.

Tutorial 3

Tutorial 4(1)

And this is the final look before adding the “you” sentiment using Pigma Micron pen and the embellishments.

Fi

 

 

So, this is it!

 

I have put up this card for following challenges:

Simon says: Stencil It

 

Word Art Wednesday

 

613 Avenue Create

Also, also, also, I had made another card using the stencilling technique for my dad’s birthday.

You can go to my Flickr account for more details on it.

 

Fantasia Painting(3)I have put up this card for challenges too, more details on Flickr.

 

 

************************************

I hope you liked my cards and my post.

Did you know I have a Flickr account? Because I didn’t!

I spend the afternoon trying passwords and codes and what not to log into my Flickr account which I had apparently used a year ago!

For all the trouble I went through, click the link, Go check out the card I made for Dad’s birthday and hit the follow button.

While on it, check out my account on other social networking sites I am active on!

Check out my Facebook Page, Instagram, Tumblr, Twitter

I am also on Deviant Art

Follow my blog for more cards, pages from diaries and compilations.

 

like if you like, comment, share ….. You know the drill!

Bubye. I hope you have a wonderful week and a very happy mother’s day to all the mums reading this!

take care. Until next time.

2 thoughts on “For My Mum

  1. Fab example of masking. Your CAS card is so eye catching. Great choice of colours.
    Glad you dropped it onto our front porch at 613 Avenue Create this week.
    Hugs Sheryl DT member xx

    Like

  2. Beautiful work, Riya – love your home-made stencils! Thanks so much for sharing these with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

