Missing Autumn

Hello there!

As predicted in my earlier post ‘Resisting It’, I ended up making one more card using resist technique.

This time, I have used Crafting glue and wax to resist Watercolour.

Missing autumn

I call this card “Missing Autumn” because I am missing Autumn.

The cloudy atmosphere, soothing breeze, walking on dry leaves.

*sigh*

But as I have no choice but to wait for a year for Autumn, I made this card to calm my nerves a bit.

Also, this post is going to be a tutorial. I hope you find it useful.

 

You will be needing:

  • Watercolour paper (I’ve used 300g/sq. m, cold pressed by Daler Rowney)
  • Cardstock (My cardstock is slightly textured)
  • Watercolours
  • Crafting glue
  • White wax crayon
  • Brushes, pencils and more.
  • (I have hand lettered the sentiment. For which I’ve used Pigma Micron pens. You can use stamps if you like.)

 

Let’s being!

Step one

Tutorial 1

Draw the design or pattern that you want using a pencil.

Like here, I have drawn a random pattern of leaves for my background.

Step two

Tutorial 2

Once you are sure of the design it’s time to use the medium you will be using to resist or mask the work.

I have used both white wax crayon and crafting glue to mask.

Don’t forget to erase the pencil lines as much as possible or it will show through the wax and the glue.

If you are using glue, let it dry. Remember the glue dries transparent.

Step three

Tutorial 3

Once the glue dries, it’s time to use watercolours (or any water based medium) to fill in colour.

Darker the colours you use, more prominent and vibrant the resist look will be.

Let the paint dry.

Close up sentiment

Till it dries, you can stamp a sentiment on a piece of cardstock to go with your card.

I have hand lettered the sentiment “Missing Autumn” using Pigma Micron pens.

Once the design dries, just adhere the sentiment to the card using foam tape.

 

and Voila! You are done.

Close up 1

 

I loved the way this card turned out to be. It did take more time than I expected and also a lot of patience but in the end, it was worth it!

You can click here to check out my other card I made last year using similar technique called “Love”

 

 

I have entered this card in the following challenges:

Simon Says Stamp

(Monday Challenge)

and

Word Art Wednesday

also,

Avenue 613 Create

 

 

******************************

I hope you enjoyed my post and found it helpful.

Contact me or Leave a comment below for questions, suggestions or more.

Hit the follow button to be notified when I post a post.

Like if you like!

Check out my Facebook Page

Stop by to say Hi on my Instagram, Tumblr, Twitter.

I am also on Deviant Art , FYI

2 thoughts on “Missing Autumn

  1. Thank you for the well done tutorial! It’s fun to not only enjoy your colorful, fun card – but to also have the details of your process! Thank you so much for sharing your project and creativity at 613 Ave C!
    ~ginny, DT for 613 Ave C: [ATG/ Twist: Male card]
    Owner: RubberMAD (GettyCollection.com)

    Like

  2. Wow, this is amazing. I love the tutorial and its a technique I’m dying to try now. Thanks for joining us at 613 Avenue Create, Heather

    Like

Leave a Reply

